Great First Listens

List Grid

Set Descending Direction

28-36 of 39

  1. The Brothers Karamazov

    The Brothers Karamazov

    Runtime: 34 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $23.98 Member Price: $19.18 (or 4 credits)
    Regular Price: $23.98 Member Price: $19.18 (or 4 credits)
    In The Brothers Karamazov, Dostoevsky explores human nature at its most loathsome and cruel but never flinches at what he finds.
    Learn More
  2. Hannah Coulter

    Hannah Coulter

    Narrator: Susan Denaker
    Runtime: 7 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $14.98 Member Price: $14.98 (or 3 credits)
    Regular Price: $14.98 Member Price: $14.98 (or 3 credits)
    In the latest installment in Wendell Berry's long story about the citizens of Port William, Kentucky, readers learn of the Coulters' children, of the Feltners and Branches, and how survivors "live right on." "Ignorant boys, killing each other,” is just about all Nathan Coulter would tell his wife about the Battle of Okinawa in the spring of 1945.
    Learn More
  3. The Tank Man's Son

    The Tank Man's Son

    A Memoir

    Author: Mark Bouman
    Narrator: Joe Geoffrey
    Runtime: 10.5 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $14.98 Member Price: $14.98 (or 3 credits)
    Regular Price: $14.98 Member Price: $14.98 (or 3 credits)
    ***Warning: This audiobook may contain offensive content*** In the tradition of The Glass Castle and Angela’s Ashes comes the most unforgettable memoir you’ll read this year! “What did it mean to be the Tank Man’s son? To grow up overwhelmed by my father’s presence and personality? It was as if I didn’t exist, as if I was just something else for my father to crush.” So begins the haunting memoir of Mark Bouman as he recounts the events of his childhood at the hands of his larger-than-life, Neo-Nazi father in brilliant, startling detail. From adventure-filled days complete with real-life war games, artillery fire, and tank races to terror-filled nights marked by vicious tirades, brutal beatings, and psychological torture, Mark paints a chilling portrait of family life that is at once whimsical and horrific—all building to a shocking climax that challenges even the broadest boundaries of love and forgiveness. An epic tale of redemption and reconciliation, The Tank Man’s Son is a literary tour de force that is sure to become an instant classic.
    Learn More
  4. The Return of the King

    The Return of the King

    Book 3

    Narrator: Rob Inglis
    Runtime: 18.50 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $34.99 Member Price: $34.99 (or 8 credits)
    Regular Price: $34.99 Member Price: $34.99 (or 8 credits)
    The Return of the King is the towering climax to J.R.R. Tolkien’s trilogy that tells the saga of the hobbits of Middle-earth and the great War of the Rings. In this concluding volume, Frodo and Sam make a terrible journey to the heart of the Land of the Shadow in a final reckoning with the power of Sauron.  In addition to narrating the prose passages, Rob Inglis sings the trilogy’s songs and poems a capella, using melodies composed by Inglis and Claudia Howard, the Recorded Books studio director. This recording contains Tolkien’s preface to the trilogy, including a prior history of the ring, and shire habitat, history, and folkways.
    Learn More
  5. Ordinary

    Ordinary

    Sustainable Faith in a Radical, Restless World

    Narrator: Michael Horton
    Runtime: 7.3 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $21.99 Member Price: $17.59 (or 4 credits)
    Regular Price: $21.99 Member Price: $17.59 (or 4 credits)
    Radical. Crazy. Transformative and restless. Every word we read these days seems to suggest there’s a “next-best-thing,” if only we would change our comfortable, compromising lives. In fact, the greatest fear most Christians have is boredom—the sense that they are missing out on the radical life Jesus promised. One thing is certain. No one wants to be “ordinary.” Yet pastor and author Michael Horton believes that our attempts to measure our spiritual growth by our experiences, constantly seeking after the next big breakthrough, have left many Christians disillusioned and disappointed. There’s nothing wrong with an energetic faith; the danger is that we can burn ourselves out on restless anxieties and unrealistic expectations. What’s needed is not another program or a fresh approach to spiritual growth; it’s a renewed appreciation for the commonplace. Far from a call to low expectations and passivity, Horton invites readers to recover their sense of joy in the ordinary. He provides a guide to a sustainable discipleship that happens over the long haul—not a quick fix that leaves readers empty with unfulfilled promises. Convicting and ultimately empowering, Ordinary is not a call to do less; it’s an invitation to experience the elusive joy of the ordinary Christian life.
    Learn More
  6. Jayber Crow

    Jayber Crow

    Narrator: Paul Michael
    Runtime: 15 Hrs - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $16.98 Member Price: $13.58 (or 3 credits)
    Regular Price: $16.98 Member Price: $13.58 (or 3 credits)
    From the simple setting of his own barber shop, Jayber Crow, orphan, seminarian, and native of Port William, recalls his life and the life of his community as it spends itself in the middle of the twentieth century. Surrounded by his friends and neighbors, he is both participant and witness as the community attempts to transcend its own decline.
    Learn More
  7. Answering Jihad

    Answering Jihad

    A Better Way Forward

    Narrator: Nabeel Qureshi
    Runtime: 4.07 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $15.99 Member Price: $15.99 (or 4 credits)
    Regular Price: $15.99 Member Price: $15.99 (or 4 credits)
    From New York Times bestselling author and former Muslim Nabeel Qureshi comes this personal, challenging, and respectful answer to the many questions surrounding jihad, the rise of ISIS, and Islamic terrorism. San Bernardino was the most lethal terror attack on American soil since 9/11, and it came on the heels of a coordinated assault on Paris. There is no question that innocents were slaughtered in the name of Allah and in the way of Jihad, but do the terrorists’ actions actually reflect the religion of Islam? The answer to this question is more pressing than ever, as waves of Muslim refugees arrive in the West seeking shelter from the violent ideology of ISIS. Setting aside speculations and competing voices, what really is Jihad? How are we to understand Jihad in relation to our Muslim neighbors and friends? Why is there such a surge of Islamist terrorism in the world today, and how are we to respond? In Answering Jihad, bestselling author Nabeel Qureshi (Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus) answers these questions from the perspective of a former Muslim who is deeply concerned for both his Muslim family and his American homeland.
    Learn More
  8. A Place of Healing

    A Place of Healing

    Wrestling with the Mysteries of Suffering, Pain, and God's Sovereignty

    Runtime: 6 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $12.98 Member Price: $12.98 (or 3 credits)
    Regular Price: $12.98 Member Price: $12.98 (or 3 credits)
    In this eloquent account of her current struggle with physical pain, Joni Eareckson Tada offers her perspective on divine healing, God’s purposes, and what it means to live with joy. Over four decades ago, a diving accident left Joni a quadriplegic. Today, she faces a new battle: unrelenting pain.
    Learn More
  9. The Idiot

    The Idiot

    Runtime: 23 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $29.98 Member Price: $23.98 (or 5 credits)
    Regular Price: $29.98 Member Price: $23.98 (or 5 credits)
    Despite the harsh circumstances besetting his own life—abject poverty, incessant gambling, and the death of his firstborn child—Dostoevsky produced a second masterpiece, The Idiot, just two years after completing Crime and Punishment.
    Learn More

List Grid

Set Descending Direction

28-36 of 39