Love is a Verb

(click image to enlarge)

Audiobook Download

Love is a Verb

$12.98

Member Price: $10.38 or 3 credits

Availability: Unrestricted (available worldwide)

Share Add to Wishlist Gift This

Overall
9 Review(s)

Customer Reviews

9 Item(s)

per page
excellent Review by suan
Overall

excellent and enjoyable!

(Posted on 3/3/13)

RECOMMENDED Review by Greg Verrall
Overall

I had the privilege of listening to this book as part of Christianaudio.com's reviewer program.

This is a great book. Even though it does not centre on the Gospel (you will have to get the reason "why" from some other books), it does provide some practical applications on how "love" works in our everyday lives.

Leaning heavily on Chapman's famous book "The Five Love Languages" this books shows the practical outworking’s of these love languages, through the number of personal stories and examples lived by real people.

A word or warning - make sure you have a box of tissues handy. There are some very emotional stories that tug at the heart strings. If you are prone to "get something in your eye" when reading these sorts of things, then I would recommend not listening to it in the body-building gym like I did.

I would think this book would have it's best effect with newly married couples, and those that have been married for a while and who have hit a rough patch.

(Posted on 7/25/11)

Personal stories of love Review by Logan
Overall

Using a range of stories to illustrate love in different ways, and how different people came to love deeper and better this book has a very personal feel to it as you delve into lives and situations of others. Each story is summed up by the principles revealed, and how it could apply to you.
Not every story will have the same relevance to everyone, but listening to the whole book will bound to enlighten most people into new ways of loving others, especially when it's the hardest thing to do.

(Posted on 1/16/11)

feeding, easy going and to the point! Review by chris
Overall

this book really touched my heart in most of the stories, I could really relate and "transpose" the details of each story to my personal details.
i also needed the "points" which reminded me to put others first (since the basic thread of all the stories is the same one) and forget about myself
I like the audio media, it is relaxing and i can listen to one or two stories, feed my soul and keep going on with life
The stories are very well read and easy to understand for a foreigner like me
thank you for this title

(Posted on 1/16/11)

Good, Worth a listen, Not Great Review by John
Overall

This was book was good and worth the listen, but not great. As the first reviewer stated most of the examples of love in the book were based off of extreme circumstances, but not all of them. One specific example that I remember from the book was about a husband and wife's ability to cope with fighting over a a really silly everyday thing. It was this story, that I am trying to not give away, that should hit home for many readers. Although, even in many of the extreme cases, it is easy to relate to the characters feelings throughout each story.

Pam Ward was great and portrayed the emotions of the characters well. When she was reading the stories you really felt like she was going through the issues herself. I wasn't a fan of the voice of the narration between the stories.

What could have made this book better would have been more stories based on every day issues and battles of the heart to show love.

(Posted on 12/10/10)

Worth a listen Review by Liz
Overall

This was a pretty good audiobook. It did help me gain insight and perspective into how to love my husband and other people better--more in the way that God wants us to love them. A few of the stories were on the corny side--like the Chicken Soup for the Soul stories--but I think anyone would get something from listening to the whole book.

(Posted on 10/31/10)

enlightening Review by Lucille
Overall

I found this book enlightening into how others feel. If you can only go from your own feelings and not see it the way others may feel or view the situtation. I found this book very helpful in understanding others.

(Posted on 10/26/10)

Good Stuff Review by Josh
Overall

I have to graciously disagree with the first review. It is true that each case and point in he book is an extreme, but however, they aren't as extreme cases as he says they are. If fact, they are very relate-able to normal everyday situations. PLUS, buy hearing as and visualizing each circumstance as a 3rd party, the reader/listener is able to see and identify the steps that led up to each 'extreme case'

God Bless

(Posted on 10/24/10)

I was unfortunately very disappointed with... Review by seth hammonds
Overall

I was unfortunately very disappointed with this book. It seemed to present that the epitome of love only comes in the face of extrme circumstances. It did not seem to speak to the everyday couple striving to love one another before circumstances get extreme. I was also disappoitned at the inordinant number of stories that began with my second husband/wife. Why were these principles not revealed to these individuals prior to their second marriage? I was also very disappointed by a lack of emphasis on the creator and sustainer of love.... Out of the whole book I was touched by 3 stories. Maybe others will get a better perspective than I did.

(Posted on 10/10/10)

9 Item(s)

per page

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Love is a Verb

How do you rate this product? *
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Overall



Come be social!

October $4.98 Titles
The Best Yes
Roar