Choose Joy

(click image to enlarge)

Audiobook Download

Choose Joy

Because Happiness Isn't Enough

Regular Price: $12.98

Member Price: $4.98 or 1 credit

Special Price: $4.98

Availability: Unrestricted (available worldwide)
Share Add to Wishlist Gift This

Overall
18 Review(s)

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
wonderful! Review by Claudia
Overall

I listen to this book over and over again on my tablet. It makes you reflect on so many things and in so many actions we do that make us loose our joy. I thank the author for this wonderful book. It has helped me a lot and I have been able to use it to help others.

(Posted on 9/3/13)

Excellent Review by Julie
Overall

Very encouraging and good teaching. Well worth listening to. Thanks Kay.

(Posted on 4/7/13)

Inspiring book! Review by Bert
Overall

Encouraging book with many practical examples.

(Posted on 4/6/13)

Amazing Book Review by Judy
Overall

Life changing. I highly recommend it. I was able to listen to it from my cell phone during my commute time.

(Posted on 4/4/13)

The train of life is coming and we choose what side of the tracks we will live on Review by Max
Overall

Last year we adopted our long awaited son from Rwanda. However, while I was still in Africa completing the process my dad suddenly died of a heart attack. That news was devastating at the same time my new son was in my arms in his new forever family. I was at a cross roads to "Choose Joy" in the midst of sorrows....Kay's words echoed in my mind while I went through that season...

(Posted on 3/20/13)

Awesomely blessed! Review by Chris
Overall

Thank you for such a wonderful blessing and generous gift! I will treasure it!

(Posted on 3/19/13)

Weak Review by Karen
Overall

Makes some good points, most especially that joy is a decision, and one that we really can choose to make. However, there are some errors related to theology and counseling, and you would do well to listen to these lectures before listening to the book.

(Posted on 3/11/13)

Wonderful to listen to and calming Review by Patrick
Overall

It addresses how I have felt, the questions I have asked but never been able to find solutions. It allows you to be human. People often make you feel guilty for having negative thoughts. Fay Warren makes you feel like you are still loved and that it is okay and acceptable to feel the way you feel and she leads you to how you can find Christ in the midst of the storm. It was one of the best books I have ever read or listened to.

Thank you christianaudio and thank you Fay Warren.

(Posted on 3/2/13)

Choosing Joy Souns So Easy Review by Em
Overall

Choosing Joy sounds so simple and easy. And perhaps for this author it may have been easy enough for her to do so. I give this book four stars because it is full of simple reminders and obvious reasons to choose joy, but it just was not an earth shattering book. I personally didn't care for the author reading her own book. This completely contradicts my personal preference that an author actually read his/her own book. However, if the author does not present it well enough, then by all means bring in a professional. This author starts out reading the book sounding very uptight and nervous. Almost fake and scripted, until further along she when gets more comfortable with herself, her words, and thoughts. An author who reads their own book should sound like a friend having a conversation. If it is indeed their own thoughts and ideas, then the conversation should flow easily.

Another distraction was the blanket opinion by the author about the reader. The author continually says: "You are" whether it is what we are thinking or feeling or doing or fill in the blank. How can the author possibly know what we are in any context, and to state so is mighty presumptuous. Many times it was offensive to me, because NO, I do not think that way, or am not thinking that way at this moment, or I have never thought that. Trivial I guess, but meaningful to me.

Choosing to listen to the audio version by Kay Warren allows you to multi-task, but if you have the time, sit down with a pen and paper. She references multi versions of the bible and verses to go along with her topic of discussion. She uses a lot of the "new" bibles and leans heavily on The Message translation. I do not recall her once using the King James version or The New King James version. To be able to write down the verse and be able to look it up afterwards, or even pause the audio and look it up immediately, would be handy and helpful in your quest for finding joy.

Overall the reminders alone are worth a read or a listen to this book. Do I think it will instantly change a person and their view on life? No. But what a great opportunity for someone if it does happen to do that for them!

I was given a copy of this audio book through Christianaudio.com. My honest review of this book is read above.

(Posted on 4/2/12)

Very engaging and biblical Review by Ricky
Overall

Choose Joy by Kay Warren is a very encouraging book. The author is engaging and down-to-earth in her writing, and this makes the book easy to follow and pay attention. There are parts that will make you laugh, or nod, or admit "that's me, definitely", and it's done in a friendly sort of way that encourages you to keep on going.

The teaching Warren provides about joy is biblical and God-centered, and she emphasizes this through a statement she recommends memorizing: "Joy is the settled assurance that God is in control of all the details of my life, the quiet confidence that ultimately everything is going to be all right, and the determined choice to praise God in all things". This statement sets the stage for the rest of the book, as she takes readers through the Bible to show us that while suffering is an inevitable and even necessary part of life, we can choose to be joyful through it. It is very encouraging in this regard.

The author herself is the narrator for the audiobook, and she does a great job reading it. Listening to the audiobook is very enjoyable. The reading is done in a conversational tone that is clear and just the right speed, which is very welcoming for listeners.

This review was made possible by the christianaudio Reviewers Program.

(Posted on 4/1/12)

Items 1 to 10 of 18 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Choose Joy

How do you rate this product? *
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Overall



Come be social!

April $4.98 Titles
Parenting Your Powerful Child
Mere Christians