Mere Christianity

(click image to enlarge)

Audiobook Download

Mere Christianity

$16.98

Member Price: $13.58 or 4 credits

Availability: Unrestricted (available worldwide)

Share Add to Wishlist Gift This

Overall
11 Review(s)

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Highly Recommended Review by Greg Verrall
Overall

CS Lewis is an author who’s writings have a wide range of appeals, Christian and non-christian, male/female, adult children, and the appeal of his writings continue on 50 years after they were written.

I actually listened to the audiobook and read the paperback together – this helped me to retain a lot of the material I think. I actually find myself quoting from this book a lot – so something must have stuck.

I find in my interactions with people that a lot of misunderstandings and grief can be avoided if we just took the time to stop and think. This book will help you do that. This book is more of a marathon that a sprint. I found myself having to read one chapter and then put it down to enable my mind to grasp what had been said and to ponder the implications. This is actually one thing that I did not like about the audio book version. The files were very big and covered many chapters, and I found it hard to find my place once I stopped and tried to start again. Perhaps the audio files could be made into chapter length files – I think this would help a lot.

The narrator on the audio book was a good choice as he actually sounds like I would imagine CS Lewis to sound, and that brought it more to life.

Mere Christianity is a book that is suitable for a non-Christian or new Christian to read because it explains Christianity well, but not from a Biblical stance, but rather from logic and the world around us. It is also suitable for mature Christians, as the depth of thought is challenging.

I will probably read this book over and over during the rest of my life, and thoroughly recommend anyone else to do the same. Unfortunately most people just won’t read it at all, for whatever reason. They are the ones that will miss out.

(Posted on 8/31/11)

Geoffrey Howard is the narrator for... Review by Jonathan Esterman
Overall

Geoffrey Howard is the narrator for this audio book. I haven't read the book itself yet, and have it sitting on my bookshelf. Unfortunately, as I am listening to the narrator's presentation of this text, I find myself becoming disinterested in reading the book. There are two parts to this. The first is simply that it sounds more philosophical, of which at the moment I'm not terribly interested in. I'm sure, however, that I'll find that interest piqued again in the near future. The second part, sadly, is the narration of this audio book. I know that I have a history of finding narrators to be bland or mechanical, but it is an honest issue to present. If audio books should move forward as a viable alternative to ingest the material successfully, then the narration needs to improve vastly.


See the score and disclosures at: http://infinitlove.com/9w1

(Posted on 10/14/10)

Mere Christianity is one of those... Review by Matt Harmless
Overall

Mere Christianity is one of those books that you hear about all of the time. So many have pointed out the simplicity of his arguments while referring to the depth of his conclusions in the same breath. Even the reviews already given on this site applaud this work.

I could sing the praises of this book as well because I felt that there were little light bulbs coming on as I encountered each new point as Lewis completed a few circuits in my mind, but I feel that I need to mention more than the book. The fact that I encountered this book in audio form has played into my enjoyment of the book.

Mere Christianity was originally a series of radio broadcasts. So as I listened to the recording, I almost felt like I was listening to Lewis giving those original broadcasts.

I highly recommend this book, but even more highly I recommend the audio version of this book.

(Posted on 9/26/10)

There are some books you relish... Review by Sam Isaacson
Overall

There are some books you relish the thought of reviewing, and this has to be one of them. Mere Christianity is one of the books that has impacted me more than any other, and this audio version is excellent – I particularly rate that it’s read by a Brit – thank you!

This is effectively the edited transcript of a series of radio sessions C.S. Lewis gave on his journey through faith, and it reads very naturally. Some of the language is a bit dated now but it’s certainly not difficult to understand, and at the end of the day everything he says is just as relevant now as it was when he first spoke it. If you’ve been a Christian for any length of time there’s a good chance you’ve heard this book quoted on more than one occasion.

C.S. Lewis is profoundly logical. His analogies are absolutely spot-on, and I can’t imagine coming to the end of a chapter with him and thinking ‘I just don’t get how he’s come to that conclusion’. One or two parts of his thinking may come across as a bit ‘traditional’ to some modern readers/listeners, but if I were you I’d hold my tongue, take a swift dose of humility, and let C.S. Lewis do the speaking.

I really would recommend this to anyone. New Christians, non-Christians, people who have been Christians for decades – this book will encourage and challenge you.

I got this audiobook for free from christianaudio.com. I’m not required to give a positive review.

(Posted on 9/19/10)

What can be said in favor... Review by Terry Delaney
Overall

What can be said in favor of or against C.S. Lewis that has not been said already? By keeping the topic of Christianity at such a general level, Lewis has penned perhaps the most important book regarding the basic beliefs that must be held by a Christian if they are to call Christ their Lord and Savior.

Unfortunately, because of his views on evolution (he assumes it as true) many today hold that one’s view of the Biblical account of creation is not important. This is not so. If Genesis one is not true, then John 3:16 is not true. If God did not create from nothing, then Christ need not come and die for our sins. I realize this is an oversimplification of the point, but it is nonetheless true.

There are a few other areas in which I disagree with Lewis, but that is the beauty of Mere Christianity, one can disagree and still find the common ground in Christ that brings us all together. Aside from his evolutionary take on origins, I appreciated his candor in handling the fundamental beliefs of Christianity.

His chapter on sexual morality ought to be read by every Christian in the church today. His understanding of sinful man becoming new creatures in Christ is still another chapter that should be read. There are many in the church today who say that unless you have been radically changed (generally the assumption is “as I have been”) then you are not a true Christian. Lewis puts that misnomer to bed and exhorts all to look to Christ and find the power in Him to worry about yourself rather than others.

If you have never read this book, you are wrong! Even with his views of evolution throughout, this book demands to be read. For so many Christians today, we want to divide over secondary and tertiary doctrinal issues. It saddens me that a Presbyterian and a Southern Baptist cannot get along because they have differing views on baptism when neither is saying that one’s baptism will save from sin.

Mere Christianity helps to bring the conversation back to the basics and often times that is where we need to not only start, but remain.

(Posted on 9/9/10)

In Mere Christianity, C.S Lewis lays... Review by Joanna Holman
Overall

In Mere Christianity, C.S Lewis lays out the case for the beliefs that are central to all branches of Christianity.

It would be worth reading just to put all the quotes you’ve probably heard or will hear in context. It is with good reason that this book has become so popular. Lewis has a great way with words and does well at explaining some big concepts in accessible ways. Lots of times he said things in a way that really made me think, particularly in regards to the relationship between faith and morality. There are some cultural difference between the time Lewis was writing and our time, both in some of the illustrations used and in the arguments for God people find compelling. Despite these differences, the book still has much making it well worth reading for both Christians and those interested in Christianity.

I “read” this book in audiobook format. It was nice to hear someone with a British accent narrating the book given Lewis is British but most narrators seem to be American.

(Posted on 9/8/10)

C.S. Lewis is perhaps one of... Review by Andrew Wencl
Overall

C.S. Lewis is perhaps one of the best-known Christian minds from the 20th Century. Many of his works are already considered classics in Christian literature, including Mere Christianity.

It has been said that classics are books that everybody loves and nobody reads. I hope that is not the case for this book. Lewis offers a book about the Christian faith that is part philosophy, part homiletic, and all apologetic. He truly had a brilliant mind, especially in his development of a defense of the Christian God, which he covers in the first section (book I), but the more practical and doctrinal/theological sections are just as valuable for contemplation.

My only hesitation with this (audio)book is Lewis' ecumenism and his brief portrayal of God as a God who risks, which is very reminiscent of the modern Open Theism and stems from Arminianism (if you are Arminian, you may not mind). Still, his descriptions of God's relation to time and His sovereignty fit much better with Calvinism that Lewis may have realized.

I received this book from the ChristianAudio Reviewer's Program.

(Posted on 9/8/10)

As this is a such classic... Review by Nicki Maguire
Overall

As this is a such classic book that is quoted so many times, I was very interested in hearing it for the first time.

As it was originally broadcast on the radio during World War Two, it does comes across as pretty dated and from a completely different world in which we are living today. However, the arguments are very good and clear, although the analogies are from a different era.

I did find some of it quite boring as the narrator is quite monotone in his delivery, although he is very clear and easy to understand. However, it was great to have a English voice narrating for a change.

I think its best to listen to this gradually, rather than in one go, as there is lots to think about.

I think this would be best for people who are very keen on studying doctrines, rather than a casual enquirer.

Thanks to christianaudio.com Reviewers Program for this copy.

(Posted on 8/30/10)

Mere Christianity should be a staple... Review by Bradley Chambers
Overall

Mere Christianity should be a staple in every believers library. C.S. Lewis compiled this book after a series of radio lectures. It's a great book that really gets to the heart of what it means to be a Christian. Whether you are a Baptist, Pres., Methodist or any other denomination, you need to read this book! Lewis shows how we are all united with CHRIST! It's 10 hours long, so you get a great bang for your buck

The narrator is fine. His voice was deep and made the book enjoyable. I would highly recommend picking this book up!

(Posted on 8/24/10)

Mere Christianity was based on a... Review by Aaron Gardner
Overall

Mere Christianity was based on a series of radio programs that CS Lewis did on defending the Christian faith.

Starting with a position which is essentially atheistic, Lewis steps through a systematic perspective on faith, belief, and the existence of God. It is particularly striking because Lewis himself had once taken the road to completing forsaking a belief in God and found his way back.

This is an excellent book to study in terms of learning about one's own faith, apologetic, and in having conversations with atheists and other people who are not believers.

Lewis himself had a deep and rumbly voice, but the kind voice of a British narrator is always a plus to help set the scene for this excellent book.

(Posted on 8/17/10)

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Mere Christianity

How do you rate this product? *
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Overall



Come be social!

Septrmber $4.98 Titles
You and Me Forever
Choose Love