A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

(click image to enlarge)

Audiobook Download

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

What I Learned While Editing My Life

$19.99

Member Price: $15.99 or 4 credits

Availability: Unrestricted (available worldwide)

Share Add to Wishlist Gift This

Overall
10 Review(s)

Customer Reviews

10 Item(s)

per page
An inspirational read, humorous and touching Review by Nate
Overall

What makes a great life? That’s the question that Donald Miller stumbled into when a couple of movie producers started molding his life’s story into a story fit for the big screen. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years: What I Learned While Editing My Life begins by setting the stage, explaining where Miller’s life was when he was approached by the producers, and then proceeds to explain what happened next. He uses his own experience at editing the story of his life to help others see how to improve their lives by creating a better story.

Like the other books that I’ve read by Miller, I found this book astounding. Miller’s self-deprecating style and knack for gleaning insight from everyday experiences make his books both enjoyable and profound. The fact that this audiobook edition is read by the author makes it even better. Every time I started listening, I felt as if I were sitting down with a good friend who was telling me what he had been up to and encouraging me to benefit from his experience. I walked away from each listening with ideas for how to better my life.

Hilarious at times, inciting tears at others, this is one book that you don’t want to miss.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this audiobook free from the christianaudio Reviewers Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

(Posted on 6/13/11)

The Importance of Story Review by Josh Morgan
Overall

This review first appeared on my blog, Jacob's Café: http://jacobscafe.blogspot.com/2011/01/importance-of-story-donmilleris.html

Narrative therapy is a technique that emphasizes and focuses on people's stories. The therapist finds the ways the client has "written" a dysfunctional narrative and helps the client find new ways to tell his or her story. Words are powerful and really do make a difference in how we understand our world and respond to it, even our memories of it.

Donald Miller, author of Blue Like Jazz, recently released A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, in which he explores his own story and its relevance. The book starts of quite slowly with no clear sense of direction. In the audiobook version, which I listened to, Miller narrates it himself, which is great. However, his almost apathetic tone makes it start even more slowly.

However, eventually the threads all tie together, with Miller not as much exploring how to re-tell his story, but how to engage in a story at all. He tells some beautiful and interesting tales along the way. I'm not sure how many are completely true and how many are embellished, but it doesn't really matter. His point comes across well that story is important. Without it, we wind up living meaningless lives.

John Eldredge often says the same thing, saying we do live in a story, but we have to wake up to it. Miller also quotes my psychology idol, Viktor Frankl, and his most famous (although not at all best) book, Man's Search for Meaning. Frankl's thesis for psychotherapy is that our primary drive is for meaning, and without it, we die.

Miller in some ways applies this idea and says that we make meaning through story. Without a meaningful story, we essentially live dead lives, just functioning according to the daily grind. Miller has some powerful imagery from his own life to elucidate this point.

I would generally agree that story elucidates our meaning. However, I would say that meaning comes through relationships. Ultimately, I believe our primary purpose is to love God and love others. We don't necessarily have to have a grand story to achieve that. Perhaps our meaning is to do so through the daily grind. But that transforms the grind into something transcendent.

It's not an either/or. But I think we have to remember the goal. The goal is not to have a story (and I don't think Miller would say that, either). The goal is to love God and others. We need a context and a motivation to do that. Finding our narrative can provide us just that, in turn giving us enough life and energy to love and be loved.

All-in-all, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years is a good book. I liked it more than Blue Like Jazz. It made me rethink some of the ways I have told parts of my story (I may post on that at another time). The unique thing is you have to have patience with the book. This actually fits, as we need patience with our story. Patience makes the end product so much more meaningful.

Note: I received a complimentary copy of this audiobook in exchange for a review (with no obligation for a positive review).

(Posted on 1/23/11)

My Favourite Audio For 2010 Review by Nicki
Overall

I have thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this audio. I love the concept that our lives are story, that they can be made better or worse depending on how we want to live. Simple but so powerful.

I think this has to be my favourite book of 2010, as its written in a style that really captivated me, easily taking me on the author’s journey with him. His descriptions of emotions, characters, situations, scenery and the mundane is just brilliant and I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone and everyone.

I took a while to listen to it as I didn’t want to rush and miss anything out, by not giving it my full attention.

Donald Miller’s narration is excellent, adding to the enjoyment of the book. I’m a new comer to Miller’s work but I will definitely be looking out for more in the future.

Thanks to christianaudio.com’s reviewers program for this copy.

(Posted on 1/5/11)

Very hard to call it a Christian, let alone Spiritual book. Review by Kristopher
Overall

I was excited to have the opportunity to review A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, as I have had several people tell me how great of a book it was. While I have not read Donald Miller's other books, such as 'Blue Like Jazz,' I had high hopes for this book. While I hate to give a bad review on an author's hard work, I must say that this was a very disappointing piece of work.

For starters, while the book is separated into sections, I fail to see the relevance of their placement as it seemed random and unnecessary. Additionally, the topics of the chapters went back and forth from working on a movie, to dating, to looking for his father, to getting in shape, to riding a bike, to meeting a bunch of new people and hearing their stories, to coming up with ideas for organizations and ending. While any one of these may make for a good story, they don't collectively make for one.

Because of the vastness of topics, it seemed to me that this book was more or less a series of diary entries that someone made while reading through a stack of self-help books for a wide range of issues. God was mentioned only frequently enough to qualify this as a 'Spiritual' book, often his talk about him seemed more negative than positive.

Any positive things I took away from this book were killed when he said that, "The whole idea that Jesus will make everything better is a lie." A lie? Really? Then he adds fuel to the fire when he says that he still 'likes' Jesus and still 'follows' him, but I guess when all you can say about Jesus is that you 'like' him like a friend's Facebook post, I shouldn't be surprised that you think him making life better by triumphing over Satan, sin and death is a lie. Even if I bleed and starve to death on the dirt roads of Calcutta, my life is much better off with Jesus because my eternity is spent with him in Heaven and not with his enemies in Hell.

While there are a couple of heart felt moments and good lines to take away from the book such as, "The same things that make a movie meaningful are the same things that make life meaningful," and "Fear can trick us into living a life that is neither meaningful or memorable," the surrounding content made the book an overall bore. Even my wife made similar comments from across the room as I listened to the book.

In closing, I find it hard to consider this a Christian book and don't quite understand why it is marketed as such. Please just view it as an author's diary and nothing more. If you are in to that kind of thing, go for it. If not, don't waste your time.

Review done for christianaudio Reviewers Program www.christianaudio.com

(Posted on 12/27/10)

Is your life a story worth telling? Review by Jeremy Voss
Overall

In Donald Miller’s book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, the author takes us through the process of editing a life in order to write a story, his life to be exact. As always, Miller mixes humor with insight to share his wisdom about how to intentionally live a life as a story with a purpose.

I love the fact that Miller is the reader for his own book. When the author is the reader, I know that the inflection given to the reading is what was intended. Sarcasm and passion can travel only so far across the written word, but when it is read aloud, new depth and understanding is revealed.

It’s almost too easy to listen to this audiobook. It is deceptive in its simplicity when the concepts and ideas are so powerful and profound. I think the worth of books like this lie in the power to actually affect the way you look at life or live life after the last page is read. Things that fit into this category are not common. When something comes along that actually changes you, it is remarkable.

I believe my life is different after reading this book. I want to purposefully create a story for myself and my family. Miller paints a beautiful picture of a scene after death where we sit with God under a tree and share with Him the stories from our lives. I pray that I have many stories to share with God and to hear Him say, “Yes, I remember that. I was there. These are good stories!”

(Posted on 12/26/10)

Great narration, dull reading Review by Jonathan
Overall

Alas, another audio book narrated by the author! Donald Miller obviously reads the text just as he intended his book to be read, but how does it compare in audio book quality? Listening, I would first guess that Miller is from the South, due to the twang in his voice. Miller presents, in the beginning, the challenge of how much we remember of our experiences, and how it sums up life. The fact that most of life is not memorable presents an interesting concept. He reads as if the book is a discussion, where he starts the group by sharing his personal details. More or less, the audio feels like a monologue being watched on stage, seeing the memories that he shares pass by on screens in the background. It's an interesting change, for certain, and one that I'm not necessarily inclined to. It reminds me of Jon Acuff's presentation for "Stuff Christians Like," just less intense and less humorous. Easy narration to follow, just the book itself not necessarily the best choice for audio format.


Read the score and more at http://infinitlove.com/a9z.

(Posted on 12/22/10)

A Talented Storyteller Review by Andrew Wencl
Overall

Donald Miller’s latest book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, takes readers on a fascinating journey to discover and live out the elements of a meaningful life. As usual, Miller’s writing style uses narrative in a most effective manner. The author narrates the book, making it more interesting and giving us an insightful look into his original meaning.

One of the most bothersome aspects Miller’s books is his persistent self-focus. Autobiographies do lend themselves to self centeredness, but Miller’s other books give us philosophical, deep looks into himself that grow tiresome. In this book, Miller seems to realize this shortcoming and even addresses it briefly. Throughout the book he struggles to write a better story by risking and sacrificing more for others. It gives this book a more lasting impact.

At the beginning, the book seems a little scattered; we read stories from the author’s life but they seem somewhat random and unconnected. After a couple of chapters he focuses on the elements that make up the story of our lives and the reader gets caught up in the narrative. As Donald Miller fails and triumphs at writing a better story for himself, he challenges us to do the same with our lives.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from ChristianAudio as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

(Posted on 12/22/10)

An Effective Writer with a Few Shortcomings Review by Andrew Wencl
Overall

Donald Miller’s latest book, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, takes readers on a fascinating journey to discover and live out the elements of a meaningful life. As usual, Miller’s writing style uses narrative in a most effective manner. The author narrates the book, making it more interesting and giving us an insightful look into his original meaning.

One of the most bothersome aspects Miller’s books is his persistent self-focus. Autobiographies do lend themselves to self centeredness, but Miller’s other books give us philosophical, deep looks into himself that grow tiresome. In this book, Miller seems to realize this shortcoming and even addresses it briefly. Throughout the book he struggles to write a better story by risking and sacrificing more for others. It gives this book a more lasting impact.

At the beginning, the book seems a little scattered; we read stories from the author’s life but they seem somewhat random and unconnected. After a couple of chapters he focuses on the elements that make up the story of our lives and the reader gets caught up in the narrative. As Donald Miller fails and triumphs at writing a better story for himself, he challenges us to do the same with our lives.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from ChristianAudio as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

(Posted on 12/21/10)

how to live a story worth reading about Review by Eric Rowell
Overall

Listening to Miller read “A Million Miles” was like catching up with an old friend over a cup of coffee. Miller sets out telling several interwoven stories about the last few years of his life, sharing what he learned about himself while creating a fictional version of himself for the movie version of “Blue Like Jazz.” What he ends up with is a narrative full of things that make for a great movie, a great book, or more importantly a great life: adventure, struggles, fear, friendship, heartbreak, and hope.

I think deep down inside we all want to live a life worth reading about. If someone were to write a book about my life would people read it, or would it collect dust on the shelf? “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” is the story of how Donald Miller wrestled with this question.

“The point of a story,” Miller writes, “is the character arc, the change.” It’s not about attaining a single prize, but instead it’s about the transformation of our lives along the journey. Don intentionally puts himself in situations that demand change. He grabs life’s pen and writes himself into challenging but rewarding stories. He hikes through the Andes Mountains, searches for his father, and takes a cross-country bike trip (which resonated in my life since I was on a trip of the same kind the summer he rode from LA to DC). What Miller learns through these tests leaves him changed on almost every level, and after hearing his accounts I was challenged to continue living out memorable scenes for the story that is my life.

What memorable scenes would be included in the story of your life?

What scenes haven’t been written yet?

The christianaudio Reviewers Program (http://christianaudio.com) provided me with a copy of Donald Miller’s “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.” My thoughts and opinions are my own.

(Posted on 12/3/10)

Love it so far Review by Hermosa Commuter
Overall

This is my "go home" commute book this month and I'm loving it so much on audio that I canot ration just one chapter per night to make it last longer. Even on audio, some of his writing makes me catch my breath and wonder if I really just heard that wonderful phrase or sentence. Other times I'm laughing out loud at his self-deprecating humor. And, as with Jazz, this book gives me pause on some of the weightier subjects of life.

(Posted on 11/5/10)

10 Item(s)

per page

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: A Million Miles in a Thousand Years

How do you rate this product? *
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Overall



Come be social!

October $4.98 Titles
The Best Yes
Roar