Living By God's Promises

(click image to enlarge)

Audiobook Download

Living By God's Promises

$12.98

Member Price: $10.38 or 3 credits

Availability: Unrestricted (available worldwide)

Share Add to Wishlist Gift This

Overall
12 Review(s)

Customer Reviews

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Reading is Superb Review by Robert Nevins
Overall

The reading is superb as is the book. Robertson Dean reads clearly and thoughtfully which is essential when reading Puritan literature.

(Posted on 4/18/11)

A thorough look at God's promises but feels too long and disconnected from one chapter to the next Review by Michael Aulia
Overall

After we were saved by God’s grace, we continued on living and walking in faith while going to a whole process of sanctification. Often we stumbled along the way and was left wondering why and sometimes we came to a point of giving up. In the Living by God’s Promises audiobook, the promises of God are thoroughly explained and studied, to strengthen your faith as a Christian.

It’s amazing how many promises that God have actually made throughout the Bible. Some promises are not actually obvious yet crucial to strengthen our faith in Him. The book covers plenty of them in series of chapters and refers to lots and lots of verses throughout the whole 6 hours.

Unfortunately, I found that it’s hard to follow the flow of the book and at times, it feels like different main topics are compiled into one book. It’s also hard to really learn truly from this book unless if you read it (there are lots of verses in which you should pause to check for the context of the verses or study them in more depth). I’m also not a fond of the narrator’s tone – which is quite flat and dull. This makes listening to this audiobook a harder process because it feels long and jumpy from one topic to the other.

It’s nevertheless a good book if you want to know what promises have God given to His people and it also challenges you to ask God to fulfill the promises that He has made (a thing that you may never do in your whole spiritual journey).

(Posted on 3/24/11)

An Excellent Audio Book Review by Scott
Overall

This audio book was a pleasant listen for me. I love the historical writings of Christians who've traveled the journey of faith and have much to share with us today. So much of what passes as "deep" thoughtful meditations of the Word of God in contemporary literature barely scratches the surface of the deepest needs of the person. While the methods used to meet those needs may change over the years, the needs themselves are the same.

This audio book, a collection of writings from three Puritan Pastors writing in the 17th century, seeks to share the insights of those great works in modern, updated language. The authors, Joel R. Beeke & James A. La Belle, have done a masterful job of putting this literature into an easy to listen to format that both edifies and encourages the listener. By focusing on the wonderful promises God has established in Jesus Christ, the original authors give practical advice for applying these same promises to our lives and the various trials we must endure as followers of the Lord.

The narrator, Robertson Dean, was a perfect match for this literature as his deep, mellow voice communicates well with the content. All if all, this is an excellent audio book presentation that will deepen your faith and encourage your daily walk with Jesus.

This review was made possible through the work of the christianaudio.com reviewers program. (http://goo.gl/puOqW)

(Posted on 3/22/11)

Intriguing title - forced completion... Review by Derek
Overall

thank you christianaudio.com for the opportunity to review this book.

As a Biblical Counselor I am always intrigued by the Puritans. When I saw the authors of this work I was excited as it reminded me of my PCA ordination study days in which I was first exposed to Joel Beeke on Family Worship.

However, although I was excited to be exposed to Andrew Gray, Edward Leigh, and William Spurstowe, I found the audio book disjointed, and hard to follow. I had to constantly rewind sections (listened to it 2x in entirety as I thought I was not giving it good stewardship or missing something) and the LONG point lists that many times were over 20 points made my eyes glaze over.

I hesitate to give a negative review as I have been so thankful for the opportunity to be exposed to audio books. Many of them, I have referred and recommended to others. However I cannot recommend this one.

The authors attempt to contextualize living by the promises of God through the eyes of the Puritans which is a FANTASTIC endeavor and one that I was obviously intrigued with. The scripture references throughout were right on and a great encouragement, it was the flow, possibly the writing, and the narration that made it so hard to listen to. I kept listening for the key that I listen and read of many materials – who could this benefit and would they read/listen to it in its entirety? Sadly, I would have to say no. I found it hard to find applications and relevance to the folks I disciple regularly.

Thanks again christianaudio.com for the opportunity to review this book

http://diakrinomusings.wordpress.com/2011/03/19/living-by-gods-promisesby-joel-beeke-james-a-la-belle-audiobook/

(Posted on 3/19/11)

Good book Review by Matthew
Overall

This is a very valuable book. It is a good thing to get outside today’s climate and learn from Ministers who thought hard, wrestled deeply and enjoyed the God of the Bible. This is what Joel R. Beeke and James A. La Belle seek to do in their new book Living by God's Promises. The aim of this book is to learn about the promises of God from Puritan treatises. Bekee and La Belle do a good job reintroducing the reader to the writings of Andrew Gray, Edward Leigh, and William Spurstowe. Chapter seven and eight are worth the price of the book. On negative side, this is a hard book to follow when you are listening to it. It might be better to own a hard copy. Some of the argumentation is long and it is easy to forget where you have been or where the book is going. There are also some minor theological peculiarities written about in the book. Overall, it is a very good book. Thank you christianaudio reviewers program!

(Posted on 3/9/11)

Very Edifying Review by John
Overall

This book is a great resource that I found very edifying. Its not a book that is easy listening by any stretch. Its basically goes through passages of three great puritan writers regarding the promises of God. How we can trust, live and pray those promises. The author Joel Beeke, does a great job of weaving together the works of Andrew Gray, Edward Leigh, and William Spurstowe into easily understandable messages. The reading was also superb. Its a very difficult task quoting puritans and long passages of scripture together and making it easy to follow. There is so much in this book that I cannot really go through step by step, but below are some great quotes I noted while listening.

"If you refuse to come, consider that Christ will not forever endure such self-destructive madness."

"God's word is full of his promises to us. But when we are called upon to believe them we measure their firmness by the improbabilities and impossibilites of our circumstances instead of the strength of God's power."

"Faith will see a morning approaching in the times of greatest trouble."

"It is by meditation that we dive into the depths of the promise and make clefts into the promise."

"Yet in the midst of this suffering and groaning we have the assurance that the Spirit helps us in our weakness and intercedes for us according to the will of God....because our suffering is for our glorification, and the Spirit intercedes for us to ensure that outcome...we know that all things work together for good for those who love God and are called according to his purpose as children whom he has made co-heirs with Christ."

"God assures me, he will lay no more on me than I shall be able to bear. Either my burden shall be made lighter or my faith stronger."

"Temptation like everything in this life is subject to our heavenly father's good and gracious providence."

"Even temptations are ordained to help us grow in grace."

"No matter how great are our sins, God gives more grace. He has more grace than all our fears, all our doubts, all our sins and all our faithlessness."

"No matter how many times they fall, he forgives them as if it were the first time."

"God promises sanctification by his spirit. Since God promises and secures the indwelling of his Holy Spirit the necessary consequence is that he promises and secures our sanctification. God cannot dwell in hearts by his Holy Spirit without renovating and purifying it with his influence."

(Posted on 3/9/11)

Good but A Little Hard to Follow Review by Jake
Overall

Listening to audio books is a fairly new experience for me, so I am thankful for the Christian Audio Reviwers Program so that I can learn to enjoy it more. I imagine that the more books I listen too the easier it will become. Having said that, ths book had some really good and inspiring chapters but I found it a little wieghty to absorb in audio format.

Let me break down the pros and cons of "Living by the Promises" :

Pros:

I appreciated the Narrators tone and voice as it was very easy to listen to.

The way in which the author lifted up God's part in being faithful in keeping His promises was a blessing and is something I think many Christians fail to believe.

Cons:

Some parts of the narration were clearly stitchy, in that you can hear when the reader had to take a break and come back later.

As much as the emphasis on Gods part in keeping the promises is a good thing, I believe the authors failed to clearly bring forth the believers responsibility: Faith, Delight in the Lord, Obedience and many other conditions given to belivers in order to recieve the promises were mentioned but always seemed to be somewhat belittled.

Many of the chapters ended with way to many points on how to apply the chapter, which was also difficult to follow without having to stop the audio.

I realize that listening to audio books is diiferent than reading and this may just be something that I need to get used to.

Overall I was edified by this audio book but I was expecting more details on how to live by the promises.

(Posted on 3/7/11)

Wonderful, inspiring, thought-provoking book Review by Richard J
Overall

As a follower of Jesus, I believe the best books are those that are both informational and inspirational—books that feed my mind AND my spirit. I recently came across a book that accomplishes both tasks. “Living By God’s Promises,” written by Joel Beeke and James La Belle, is saturated with Scripture. The authors draw from 3 Puritan writers-- Edward Leigh, William Spurstowe and Andrew Gray—to produce this great book.

The authors feed our minds by teaching us the proper way to understand the promises of God. They look at the purposes, the extent, and the foundation of the promises. I know that I grew in my understanding of God’s promises through these chapters of the book. The rest of the book feeds our spirits by showing how we can apply God’s promises to the various circumstances of our lives, like when we struggle with illness, temptation growing in Christ.

The audiobook (which is what this review is based on) was expertly produced. The narrator, Robertson Dean, has a voice that’s so good that it makes me need to repent of the sin of envy. He lends a sense of dignity to this important, and overlooked, subject. In short, I cannot recommend this book highly enough. If you want to be blessed as you are reminded of God’s promises, get this book and devour it right away!

I need to let you know that I received a free copy of this book to review from christianaudio.com. The adiobook came from them; the thoughts in this review are completely my own.

(Posted on 3/6/11)

Wisdom for all Generations Review by Andrew Wencl
Overall

Living by God's Promises by Joel Beeke and James La Belle captures the reflections on the promises of God in Scripture as described by three great puritans: Edward Leigh, Andrew Gray, and William Spurstowe.

The book was a delight to listen to because the authors give a real sense of what these puritan men believed and present their thoughts and arguments in language that is understandable. After listening to Jonathan Edwards' The Religious Affections, I found the language here much easier to understand.

That's not to say they've altered the message of Leigh, Gray, and Spurstow. In fact, the book is saturated by their presence. Beeke and La Belle so capture the spirit of these puritan leaders that at times I wasn't sure if I was listening to a quotation or the authors' themselves. That kind of writing can only come about by deep immersion over a long period of time in the writings this book draws from.

Living by God's Promises takes three largely inaccessible people and brings their writings to life, allowing readers in the 21st century to be blessed and encouraged by the thoughts of those who've been here before us.

If you are interested in the promises of God recorded in Scripture, this book is as good as any out there. Actually, it is better because it is truly a complete work that is faithful to the Bible and helps the reader analyze the promises and enjoy their blessings.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from ChristianAudio as part of their Blogger Review Program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

(Posted on 3/2/11)

Living by God's Promises by Joel R. Beeke & James A. LaBelle (audio) Review by Sam Isaacson
Overall

This book is a modernised compilation of the works of three Puritans, Andrew Gray, Edward Leigh, and William Spurstowe, all looking at the promises of God, and how to then live life in light of them.

Firstly, let's just point out that when I say that this is a 'modernised' compilation, that doesn't mean that the content has been 'dumbed down'. The Puritans often wrote phenomenally heavy, content-rich works, and this is an attempt to communicate that same level of truth but for a modern-day audience. This is still one of those books where every word of every sentence has justified its existence, and that means that in reading it it's likely you're being bombarded with challenging truths.

I'm not convinced, therefore, that audio is the best format for this book. On several occasions I heard a sentence and had to skip back to actually listen to it! At some points it felt like every sentence had a new challenge in it, and I would have probably preferred to have this written down instead so I could have paused, and meditated on a particular biblical idea.

That said, this is still an outstanding book. Every chapter looks at a different aspect of God's promises (such as God's promises in prayer, in suffering, in temptation), and each time I found myself drawn to seeing things in a new light. It's worth setting some time aside to focus on the book, because the writing style is hardly one for casual reading, but I'd recommend this in a flash to anyone, Christian or non.

I got this audiobook for free from christianaudio.com. I'm not required to give a positive review.

(Posted on 2/22/11)

Items 1 to 10 of 12 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Living By God's Promises

How do you rate this product? *
  1 star 2 stars 3 stars 4 stars 5 stars
Overall



Come be social!

October $4.98 Titles
$134 Bonus Offer
Follow Me