Great First Listens

Grid List

Set Descending Direction

31-39 of 39

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  1. The Pilgrim's Progress

    The Pilgrim's Progress

    Author: John Bunyan
    Runtime: 9 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $20.98 Member Price: $16.78 (or 4 credits)
    Regular Price: $20.98 Member Price: $16.78 (or 4 credits)
    Next to The Bible, The Pilgrim's Progress has probably been more widely read than any other book in the English language
    Learn More
  2. The Tank Man's Son

    The Tank Man's Son

    A Memoir

    Author: Mark Bouman
    Narrator: Joe Geoffrey
    Runtime: 10.5 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $14.98 Member Price: $14.98 (or 3 credits)
    Regular Price: $14.98 Member Price: $14.98 (or 3 credits)
    ***Warning: This audiobook may contain offensive content*** In the tradition of The Glass Castle and Angela’s Ashes comes the most unforgettable memoir you’ll read this year! “What did it mean to be the Tank Man’s son? To grow up overwhelmed by my father’s presence and personality? It was as if I didn’t exist, as if I was just something else for my father to crush.” So begins the haunting memoir of Mark Bouman as he recounts the events of his childhood at the hands of his larger-than-life, Neo-Nazi father in brilliant, startling detail. From adventure-filled days complete with real-life war games, artillery fire, and tank races to terror-filled nights marked by vicious tirades, brutal beatings, and psychological torture, Mark paints a chilling portrait of family life that is at once whimsical and horrific—all building to a shocking climax that challenges even the broadest boundaries of love and forgiveness. An epic tale of redemption and reconciliation, The Tank Man’s Son is a literary tour de force that is sure to become an instant classic.
    Learn More
  3. Ordinary

    Ordinary

    Sustainable Faith in a Radical, Restless World

    Narrator: Michael Horton
    Runtime: 7.3 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $23.99 Member Price: $19.19 (or 4 credits)
    Regular Price: $23.99 Member Price: $19.19 (or 4 credits)
    Radical. Crazy. Transformative and restless. Every word we read these days seems to suggest there’s a “next-best-thing,” if only we would change our comfortable, compromising lives. In fact, the greatest fear most Christians have is boredom—the sense that they are missing out on the radical life Jesus promised. One thing is certain. No one wants to be “ordinary.” Yet pastor and author Michael Horton believes that our attempts to measure our spiritual growth by our experiences, constantly seeking after the next big breakthrough, have left many Christians disillusioned and disappointed. There’s nothing wrong with an energetic faith; the danger is that we can burn ourselves out on restless anxieties and unrealistic expectations. What’s needed is not another program or a fresh approach to spiritual growth; it’s a renewed appreciation for the commonplace. Far from a call to low expectations and passivity, Horton invites readers to recover their sense of joy in the ordinary. He provides a guide to a sustainable discipleship that happens over the long haul—not a quick fix that leaves readers empty with unfulfilled promises. Convicting and ultimately empowering, Ordinary is not a call to do less; it’s an invitation to experience the elusive joy of the ordinary Christian life.
    Learn More
  4. The Idiot

    The Idiot

    Runtime: 23 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $29.98 Member Price: $23.98 (or 5 credits)
    Regular Price: $29.98 Member Price: $23.98 (or 5 credits)
    Despite the harsh circumstances besetting his own life—abject poverty, incessant gambling, and the death of his firstborn child—Dostoevsky produced a second masterpiece, The Idiot, just two years after completing Crime and Punishment.
    Learn More
  5. Hannah Coulter

    Hannah Coulter

    Narrator: Susan Denaker
    Runtime: 7 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $14.98 Member Price: $14.98 (or 3 credits)
    Regular Price: $14.98 Member Price: $14.98 (or 3 credits)
    In the latest installment in Wendell Berry's long story about the citizens of Port William, Kentucky, readers learn of the Coulters' children, of the Feltners and Branches, and how survivors "live right on." "Ignorant boys, killing each other,” is just about all Nathan Coulter would tell his wife about the Battle of Okinawa in the spring of 1945.
    Learn More
  6. My Listening Bible

    My Listening Bible

    Narrator: Sarah Zimmerman
    Runtime: 2.22 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $12.99 Member Price: $10.39 (or 2 credits)
    Regular Price: $12.99 Member Price: $10.39 (or 2 credits)
    The Bible children can really listen to! My Listening Bible doesn’t just retell the Bible stories; it includes actual Scripture that brings the Bible to life! With 85 exciting Bible stories from the clear and easy-to-understand New Living Translation, kids won’t want to stop listening! My Listening Bible is a fun and simple, yet meaningful way to engage kids of all ages with the Bible while helping them to build a solid faith foundation.
    Learn More
  7. The Pastor's Wife

    The Pastor's Wife

    A Courageous Testimony of Persecution and Imprisonment in Communist Romania

    Narrator: Sadie Alexandru
    Runtime: 10.0 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $16.98 Member Price: $16.98 (or 4 credits)
    Regular Price: $16.98 Member Price: $16.98 (or 4 credits)
    In 1949, when Soviet propaganda was asserting that free Christian worship was being tolerated behind the Iron Curtain, the Communists arrested Pastor Richard Wurmbrand in Romania for secret Christian activities. The Pastor’s Wife is Sabina Wurmbrand’s true story of her efforts to get her husband released, her subsequent imprisonment and, above all, her unceasing efforts to help build a Christian Underground Church in restricted areas around the world. For the truth is that the Communists to this day cannot tolerate genuine Christianity, and are still executing or imprisoning underground Christians. This is the urgent message of The Pastor’s Wife.
    Learn More
  8. The In-Between

    The In-Between

    Embracing the Tension Between Now and the Next Big Thing

    Author: Jeff Goins
    Narrator: Jeff Goins
    Runtime: 3.8 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $12.98 Member Price: $10.38 (or 2 credits)
    Regular Price: $12.98 Member Price: $10.38 (or 2 credits)
    We're an "instant gratification" generation, but the trouble is, most change happens gradually. Most of us spend our lives searching and longing for something more than what is in front of us. Whether it's traveling abroad or chasing cheap (or expensive) thrills, we're all looking for medicine to satisfy our restlessness. And, so often, we're looking in the wrong place. The In-Between is a call to accept the importance that waiting plays in our lives. Can we embrace the extraordinary nature of the ordinary and enjoy the daily mundane-what lies in between the "major" moments? Moments of breakthrough are not where life's greatest transformation happens; the stuff that God uses to shape us often lies in the in-between. It's the bus stops and layovers and DMV lines and moments of unintentional pause that force us to become better people. That's not to say there aren't moments of epiphany. There are. It's just that most of us find ourselves living somewhere in the in-between. Learning to live in this tension, to be content in these moments of waiting, may be our greatest struggle-and our greatest opportunity to grow.
    Learn More
  9. Living Forward

    Living Forward

    A Proven Plan to Stop Drifting and Get the Life You Want

    Runtime: 4.33 Hrs. - Unabridged
    Regular Price: $12.98 Member Price: $12.98 (or 3 credits)
    Regular Price: $12.98 Member Price: $12.98 (or 3 credits)
    Each of us has but one life to live on this earth. What we do with it is our choice. Are we drifting through it as spectators, reacting to our circumstances when necessary and wondering just how we got to this point anyway? Or are we directing it, maximizing the joy and potential of every day, living with a purpose or mission in mind? Too many of us are doing the former--and our lives are slipping away one day at a time. But what if we treated life like the gift that it is? What if we lived each day as though it were part of a bigger picture, aplan? That's what New York Times bestselling author Michael Hyatt and executive coach Daniel Harkavy show us how to do: to design a life with the end in mind, determining in advance the outcomes we desire and path to get there. In this step-by-step guide, they share proven principles that help readers create a simple but effective life plan so that they can get from where they are now to where they really want to be--in every area of life.
    Learn More

Grid List

Set Descending Direction

31-39 of 39

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3