Audiobook Download

MindWar (The MindWar Trilogy, Book #1)

Book 1

Series The MindWar Trilogy
Author Andrew Klavan
Narrator Andrew Kanies
Runtime 8 Hrs. - Unabridged
Publisher Thomas Nelson
Downloads ZIP M4B MP3
Release Date July 8, 2014
Availability: Unrestricted (available worldwide)

Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High School had ever seen. Unflappable. Unstoppable. Number 12. But when a car accident left him crippled, Rick’s life as he knew it ended. He disavowed his triumphant past. He ignored his girlfriend. He disappeared into his bedroom—and into the glowing video screen.

Regular Price: $23.99 Member Price: $19.19 (or 4 credits)
Add to Wishlist Gift This
Description

When Rick lost the ability to run, he came one step closer to becoming a hero.

New High Score! New Record Time!

Rick nodded with grim satisfaction. He laid the game controller aside on the sofa and reached for his crutches.

Rick Dial was the best quarterback Putnam Hills High School had ever seen. Unflappable. Unstoppable. Number 12. But when a car accident left him crippled, Rick’s life as he knew it ended. He disavowed his triumphant past. He ignored his girlfriend. He disappeared into his bedroom—and into the glowing video screen.

But Rick’s uncanny gaming skills have attracted attention. Dangerous attention. Government agents have uncovered a potentially devastating cyber-threat: a Russian genius has created a digital reality called the Realm, from which he can enter, control, and disrupt American computer systems . . . from transportation to defense. The agents want Rick, quick-thinking quarterback and gaming master, to enter the Realm and stop the madman—before he sends America into chaos.

Entering the Realm will give Rick what he thought he’d never have again: a body as strong and fast as it was before the accident. But this is no game, there are no extra lives, and what happens to Rick in the Realm happens to Rick’s body in reality.

In the tradition of Ender’s Game and The Matrix, MindWar is a complex thriller about a seemingly ordinary teenager who discovers a hidden gift.

Customer Reviews

2 Reviews Add Review
Slow moving and predictable
I found the story line (the trilogy) to be a slow moving and trying way to hard to be suspenseful. Every time the "hero" was put in a situation the scene dragged out and was always full of woe and uncertainty. It got to the point of me having to hit my fast forward to get to the predictable end of him "looking deep inside himself and his nauseating football experience to find the strength. That is who seem to be the real power behind the story; the great football god of experientialism.
Overall
Review by / (Posted on 7/24/2017)
The series was excellent. The plot line was new to me and kept my interest. The reader's pace was easy to listen to.
I thought the book began with a little slow reading, but this could be because I read book 2 of this series first. The overall series was excellent with the reader pace easy to listen to.
Overall
Review by / (Posted on 3/24/2017)